Local Planning Authorities

Your local planning authority will probably be the first port of call when considering whether to set up a new Tourism business in Devon.  Each one will be able to give specific advice for your business proposal within their specific area.

There are eight Borough/District Councils in Devon, their responsibilities include; environmental health, leisure and cultural services, economic and tourism, development, housing, planning and waste collection.  Please see contact details below;

East Devon District Council
Council Offices, Knowle, Sidmouth, Devon, EX10 8HL
Tel: 01395 516551

Exeter City Council
Civic Centre, Paris Street, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1JN
Tel: 01392 277888 

Mid Devon District Council
Phoenix House, Phoenix Lane, Tiverton, EX16 6PP
Tel: 01884 255255 

North Devon District Council
North Walk, Barnstaple, Devon, EX31 1EA
Tel: 01271 327711

South Hams District Council
Follaton House, Plymouth Road, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 5NE
Tel: 01803 861234

Teignbridge District Council
Forde House, Brunel Road, Newton Abbot, Devon TQ12 4XX
Tel: 01626 361101

Torridge District Council
Riverbank House, Bideford, Devon, EX39 2QG
Tel: 01237 428700

West Devon Borough Council
Kilworthy Park, Tavistock, Devon, PL19 0BZ
Tel: 01822 813600

Information, advice and useful website links

Business set-up
Visitor Information
Business Information